Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Los Angeles Mission College logo

Database Guide

What is a Database?

What is a database?

According to World Book: a database also called an electronic database, is a collection of data, or information, specially organized for rapid search and retrieval by a computer. 

A library database is a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Some databases also include e-books, relevant Web resources, and various multimedia.

The information found in databases is either originally created or comes from different, reliable sources.

NOTE: Databases are not “Internet" sources. One must login with their LAMC username & password to use databases.

LAMC Databases

To access the LAMC Databases you will need special credentials. Your student ID number and PIN will help you access the LAMC databases.

Access LAMC Databases

  • Student ID Number
  • PIN (Month and Date of Birth) - For example, if your birthday is January 7, then the PIN is 0107.

What are Databases?

Los Angeles Mission College. All rights reserved. - 13356 Eldridge Avenue, Sylmar, CA 91342. 818-364-7600 | LAColleges.net | LACCDBuildsGreen.org | ADA Compliance
Questions or comments about this web site? Please leave Feedback