English (Prof. Darr)

1. Gale Literature Resource Center

Access the Gale Literature Resource Center Database from the LAMC Database page. Once you select the Gale Literature Database you will be taken to the homepage. 

• To start our search select the Advanced button located on the right hand side.

2. Advanced Search 

You will be conducting an Advanced Search on this database. The menu below shows the advance search boxes.

• To begin, you can type in the title of your short story or poem.
• Type the title of your source in the box that states "Name of Work"
• Click on the search button

3. Results Page

The results page will display a number of different types of sources. On the right hand side there is a list of the types of sources starting with Literature Criticism, Biography, Topic and Work Overviews, etc. You are currently only viewing sources that focus on Literature Criticism for "The Cask of Amontillado."  ​

• From the results list, read the titles of the articles to locate a title for your topic.
• Our first result is titled "Method to the Madness"
• To select the article simply, click on the blue title "Method to the Madness"

4. Source Selection

Once you click on the title of the article, the entire article will be appear. The database provides a Tools box that can help you save, download, or print the articles. There is also a handy citation tool to help you cite.

Los Angeles Mission College Library Databases

Accessing Databases:

1. Go to the Library Homepage at

http://www.lamission.edu/Library/Home.aspx

2. Click on Library Resources

3. Once you select a database you will need to enter your college ID# and your pin, which is your month and date of birth (for example if you were born on Feb. 22, your pin would be 0222).