Los Angeles Mission Library: Research Guide of the Month: Chinese New Year: Databases

Databases

General Academic Databases

Not sure where to start? These academic databases cover a wide range of topics, making them a great place to begin your research.

EBSCOhost Databases
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Magazine, newspaper, scholarly journal, and reference articles.

Background Information

Just getting started with an unfamiliar research topic? These reference databases can help you find background information and give you a broad overview of your subject.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
Contains encyclopedia entries on a wide variety of subjects. This is a good resource for getting a big-picture overview of a new topic.
Biography (Gale)
Biographies, reference material, and multimedia on people from around the world and throughout history. Helpful for finding biographical information on famous people.

Browse All Databases

Historical Databases

Historical databases are organized collections of data related to past events. They can include a wide range of information, such as:

Primary sources: Original documents like letters, diaries, photographs, and government records.
Secondary sources: Books, articles, and scholarly interpretations of historical events.
Statistical data: Census records, economic figures, and demographic information.
Multimedia: Maps, audio recordings, and video footage.

These databases are valuable tools for researchers, historians, and anyone interested in learning about the past. They provide access to a wealth of information in a structured and searchable format.

America: History & Life (EBSCO)
"America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
U.S. History (Gale)
"The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror."
World History (Gale)
"An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History."

Browse All Databases

Newspapers

Looking for newspaper articles on your chosen topic? These databases can help you access many of the world's most well-known newspapers.

News (Gale)
"Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts."
Newspaper Source Plus (Ebsco)
"Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts."
US Newsstream (Proquest)
"US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format."

Current Issues

These databases will give you a variety of opinions and perspectives on current events and controversial issues.

CQ Researcher
"CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research."
Global Issues (Gale)
"Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal."
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
"Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues."

Browse All Databases

Boolean Operators Explained

AND

Diagram demonstrating boolean operator "AND"

Search results must include:

BOTH TERMS

"Cats AND Dogs"

Diagram demonstrating boolean operator "OR"

Search results must include:

EITHER TERM

"Cats OR Dogs"

NOT

Diagram demonstrating boolean operator "NOT"

Search results must include:

JUST ONE TERM

"Cats NOT Dogs"

Research Guide of the Month

Ask a Librarian

January: Chinese New Year

Databases

General Academic Databases

Background Information

Historical Databases

Newspapers

Current Issues

Boolean Operators Explained