Scholarly and Academic Sources

The Los Angeles Mission College Library subscribes to over 100 databases! To locate Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed, or Academic Sources, preview the video for instructions on selecting the best databases for locating scholarly sources.

English

Academic and Peer-Reviewed Articles

Do you need to locate academic, scholarly, or peer-reviewed sources? These academic databases can help you find Peer-Reviewed Scholarly articles on a variety of topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database which contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new window
Browse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context.

Current Issues

Are you working on an argumentative or persuasive research assignment? These controversial databases can help you find information and give you a broad overview of your topic.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.

Background Information

Just getting started with an unfamiliar topic? These reference databases can help you find background information and give you a broad overview of your subject.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Specialized encyclopedia sets.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.

Popular Sources

Popular Sources are also known as magazines and newspaper articles. These databases provide magazine and newspaper articles on a variety of topics, both current and historical.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology.
Access World News Research Collection 2022 Edition This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Daily News of Los Angeles Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore Los Angeles through local news, events and people with Daily News of Los Angeles Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues.