When researching a topic, there are numerous sources available to you. Choosing to use a library database over a general web search offers distinct advantages. Library databases provide curated and peer-reviewed content, ensuring that the information is accurate, credible, and relevant to academic research assignments. Library databases, grant access to resources not freely available on the web. After selecting your topic, it's essential to determine the types of sources that will best support your research. Using a library database can be a significant step toward ensuring the quality and reliability of your findings.
This guide includes video tutorials and introduces you to the in-person and virtual library services.
In-person library services at the Los Angeles Mission College Library offer a wealth of resources and support to students. These services include access to a vast print collection of books, and periodicals. Additionally, librarians are on hand to provide research assistance, guidance on sourcing and citing information, and much more!
The Los Angeles Mission College Library also provides quiet study areas, group collaboration spaces, and computers.
Virtual library services at the Los Angeles Mission College Library are essential in assisting students with remote digital services to enhance academics. These services allow students remote access to a wide array of databases, research guides, and virtual research assistance.
The "chat with a librarian" tool offers real-time assistance on research queries, while the option to book a research appointment allows for more in-depth consultation with a librarian. Additionally, the library provides online workshop sessions on a variety of topics, from database navigation to citation.
Los Angeles Mission College. All rights reserved. - 13356 Eldridge Avenue, Sylmar, CA 91342. 818-364-7600 | LACCD.edu | ADA Compliance
Questions or comments about this web site? Please leave Feedback