Los Angeles Mission Library: Astronomy 001: Astronomy 001: Books

Library Catalog

OneSearch

Find print books, eBooks, magazine, journal, and newspaper articles from LA Mission College.

Books

General
Reference

Surveying the Skies by Gareth Wynn-Williams
ISBN: 9783319285085

Publication Date: 2016-06-27

In the first few chapters the author discusses what astronomers learned from visible-light surveys, first with the naked eye, then using telescopes in the seventeenth century, and photography in the nineteenth century. He then moves to the second half of the twentieth century when the skies started to be swept by radio, infrared, ultraviolet, x-ray and gamma ray telescopes, many of which had to be flown in satellites above the Earth's atmosphere. These surveys led to the discovery of pulsars, quasars, molecular clouds, protostars, bursters, and black holes. He then returns to Earth to describe several currently active large-scale projects that methodically collect images, photometry and spectra that are then stored in vast publicly-accessible databases.
The Last Stargazers by Emily Levesque
ISBN: 9781492681076

Publication Date: 2020-08-04

Dr. Levesque's passion for the stars shines through as she shares her personal experiences and encounters while working at some of the world's most renowned observatories. Delve into the fascinating world of astronomy as you uncover the secrets of distant galaxies, supernovae, and elusive celestial phenomena.
Constellation Myths by Eratosthenes; Hyginus; Aratus; Robin Hard
ISBN: 9780198716983

Publication Date: 2015-08-01

This translation brings together the later summaries from Eratosthenes' lost handbook with a guide to astronomy compiled by Hyginus, librarian to Augustus. Together with Aratus's astronomical poem the Phaenomena, these texts provide a complete collection of Greek astral myths; imaginative and picturesque, they also offer an intriguing insight into ancient science and culture.
The Stars We Know by Timothy P. McCleary
ISBN: 9781577667261

Publication Date: 2011-08-01

This fascinating ethnography explores how the Crow Indians have blended scientific observation with religious symbolism to develop traditions that are a cornerstone of their culture. For centuries, the Crow people have kept a careful watch on the heavens above them - particularly the cycles and movements of the stars, the sun, the moon, and certain planets. Their interpretations of these cosmic phenomena have shaped the principles by which the Crow live, providing a sense of right and wrong and an attendant set of values and ethics. The Crow speak of this celestial wisdom as ihké aléwahkuua, 'the stars we know.'

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by John Rumble (Editor)
ISBN: 9780367417246

Publication Date: 2020-06-05

In a world with access to unlimited amounts of data, how can users who need to make critical scientific and technical decisions find high quality, reliable data? Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicsremains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts.
The Universal Book of Astronomy by David Darling
ISBN: 9780471265696

Publication Date: 2003-10-01

The ultimate guide to the final frontier This alphabetical tour of the universe provides all the history, science, and up-to-the-minute facts needed to explore the skies with authority. Packed with more than 3,000 entries that cover everything from major observatories and space telescopes to biographies of astronomers throughout the ages, it showcases an extraordinary array of newfound wonders, including microquasars, brown dwarfs, and dark energy, as well as a host of individual comets, asteroids, moons, planets, stars, nebulas, and galaxies. Featuring nearly 200 illustrations and eight pages of color photographs, this comprehensive guide provides easy lookup of topics and offers more in-depth information than can be found in existing star guides or astronomy dictionaries.