ZTCs @ LAMC

   

Most books in Project Gutenberg are not protected by copyright, so this is generally a place to check for older publications. Most books are in the public domain.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.

The BCcampus Open Textbook Project is an initiative in British Columbia that intends to provide open textbooks for the largest courses in the province. The BCcampus library includes textbooks developed by Canadian authors as well as other texts that have been borrowed for use by instructors in British Columbia. The library is strong in general education courses but also includes options for a number of skills and trades. Faculty reviews and ancillary resources are available for some textbooks - look for links that help you locate these in the library.

OER Commons allows you to search for open educational resources in a variety of types, educational levels, and subject areas. Try the Advanced Search option to locate textbooks released for college-level courses--or look for other materials to supplement texts. While you're in OER Commons, you may also want to take a look at its partnership with OpenStax to curate materials around general education courses. Consider joining a group if you would like to be involved. 

Try a few of these sources when looking for videos, images, and media either licensed Creative Commons or in the public domain.

• ccMixter

  This is a community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.

• CC Search

Browse over 500 million images that have Creative Commons licenses or are in the Public Domain.

• Digital Public Library of America

  DPLA allows you to access digital collections created by libraries, universities, and archives. Some are in the public domain but not all--check items individually.

• Flickr

  Flickr features many images licensed with Creative Commons

• The Internet Archive

  The Internet Archive has a dedicated space for OER.

• Jamendo

  Jamendo users can share their music using Creative Common licenses.

• Library of Congress Digital Collections

  The Library of Congress has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994. Many (not all) materials are in the public domain.

• Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)

  Includes a filter for unrestricted images.

• NASA Images

  NASA content - images, audio, video, and computer files used in the rendition of 3-dimensional models, such as texture maps and polygon data in any format - generally are not copyrighted.

• National Science Digital Library

  This library contains materials with an emphasis on STEM disciplines. Use the search engine to filter by "terms of use" to find OER.

• New York Public Library - Public Domain Collections

  More than 180,000 of the items in NYPL's Digital Collections are in the public domain

• Open Content Program - The Getty

  "The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. "

• Open Osmosis

  Open Osmosis is an initiative committed to developing & disseminating health education resources with the ultimate aim of making healthcare more accessible.

• The Periodic Table of Videos (University of Nottingham)

  The team behind this project created videos to accompany each of the elements on the periodic table.

• PHET Interactive Simulations

  Free interactive math and science simulations provided via the University of Colorado, Boulder.

• YouTube

  This is not a specific OER repository but some of the content is available for you to use freely under a Creative Commons license. Use the advanced search to select Creative Commons licensed content.