Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Los Angeles Mission College logo

Library: Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated Bibliography

Let's start by defining the two words:

Bibliography or Works Cited:

"a list of materials (as books, magazines or journal articles) used in the preparation of a written work or mentioned in a text" (Merriam-Webster's Dictionary, 2015). 

A bibliography is also referred to as a Works Cited or a References list. 

Annotate: 

"to add notes or comments to (a text, book, drawing, etc.)" (Merriam-Webster's Dictionary, 2016).

Annotated Bibliography or Works Cited:

A list of of Works Cited or References followed by a short summary and analysis of the source. 

Works Cited

"Annotate." Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bibliography. Accessed 31 Oct. 2016.

"Bibliography." Merriam-Webster, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/annotate. Accessed 31 Oct. 2016.

Annotated Bibliography Samples

Annotated Bibliography

An Annotated Bibliography is a great way to organize your research. Find out more about Annotated Bibliographies on OWL!

Purdue Online Writing Lab logo in orange.

More Samples

APA and MLA Style Annotated Samples below!

Los Angeles Mission College. All rights reserved. - 13356 Eldridge Avenue, Sylmar, CA 91342. 818-364-7600 | LAColleges.net | LACCDBuildsGreen.org | ADA Compliance
Questions or comments about this web site? Please leave Feedback