Skip to Main Content
Ask a Librarian
Need assistance researching your topic? Our librarians are here to help! Click the buttons below to ask us a question.
Remember and Honor
General Academic Databases
Not sure where to start? These academic databases cover a wide range of topics, making them a great place to begin your research.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing scholarly articles for thousands of journals and other publications
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Magazine, newspaper, scholarly journal, and reference articles.
Just getting started with an unfamiliar research topic? These reference databases can help you find background information and give you a broad overview of your subject.
Gale in Context: College
Access a wide array of multidisciplinary content by searching scholarly journals, newspapers, periodicals, images, and videos. Focused on subjects college students often research.
Biographies, reference material, and multimedia on people from around the world and throughout history. Helpful for finding biographical information on famous people.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
"America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
U.S. History (Gale)
"The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror."
World History (Gale)
"An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History."
Looking for newspaper articles on your chosen topic? These databases can help you access many of the world's most well-known newspapers.
US Newsstream (Proquest)
"US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format."
Newspaper Source Plus (Ebsco)
"Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts."
"Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts."
These databases will give you a variety of opinions and perspectives on current events and controversial issues.
"CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research."
Global Issues (Gale)
"Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal."
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
"Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues."
Los Angeles Mission College. All rights reserved. - 13356 Eldridge Avenue, Sylmar, CA 91342. 818-364-7600 | LAColleges.net | LACCDBuildsGreen.org | ADA Compliance
Questions or comments about this web site? Please leave Feedback