This is the "Welcome and Introduction" page of the "Library Science 101: Section 7804 (CCLA ArTES HS) Syllabus" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Science 101: Section 7804 (CCLA ArTES HS) Syllabus  

Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lamission.edu/content.php?pid=563850 Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome and Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Class Schedule

Welcome!

 

ArTES HS LIB SCI 101: 7804 Friday's

8:10-9:10am

  • Friday, Feb 21, 2014: Wk.01
    21st century libraries.
  • Friday, Feb 28, 2014: Wk.02
    Research: Browsing topics.
  • Friday, Mar 7, 2014: Wk.03
    Thesis statement and keywords.
  • Friday, Mar 14, 2014: Wk.04
    Finding & Citing Books.
  • Friday, Mar 21, 2014: Wk.05
    Finding & Citing E-Books.
  • Friday, Mar 28, 2014: Wk.06
    Using Library Databases.
  • Friday, Apr 4, 2014: Wk.07
    Databases continued.
  • Friday, Apr 11, 2014: Wk.08
    Advanced Internet Searching.
  • Friday, Apr 18, 2014: SB
    Spring Break
  • Friday, Apr 25, 2014: Wk.09
    Plagiarism and citation (MLA).
  • Friday, May 2, 2014: Wk.10
    Plagiarism and citation (APA).
  • Friday, May 9, 2014: Wk.11
    Creating an Annotated Bibliography.
  • Friday, May 16, 2014: Wk.12
    Annotated Bibliography continued.
  • Friday, May 23, 2014: Wk.13
    Library Visit Presentations.
  • Friday, May 30, 2014: Wk.14
    Last day: Wrap & Review
 

Study like a scholar, scholar

Course Description

Course Description:

Students learn to use research tools found in most libraries to gather, organize, and evaluate information from various sources, including library databases, catalogs, and the Internet. UC/CSU transferable one credit class. 

The Los Angeles Mission College Library

Visit me at the LA Mission College Library Reference desk for help or just to say hi. Call or e-mail for an appointment or show up to class early,

I’m usually around for five or ten minutes before and after class.

Ask a Librarian!

Profile Image
Sheila MacDowell
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Los Angeles Mission College Library Reference Desk
8:00-10:30am Mon-Th.
2-4pm Thursday afternoons
12:30-2pm Fridays Spring 2014.

Office Hours: To make an appointment, call (818) 364-7752 or send me an email.
Send Email
My favorite books are:
Mystery, history, biography, memoir, classics, cookbooks, science fiction, fantasy, & YA.

I Love Libraries!

"If you give a man a fish you feed him for a day. If you teach a man to fish you feed him for a lifetime." Lao Tzu

Working one on one at the reference desk, or with a group in a classroom I try to show students how to “fish” what they need out of an ocean of information.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip