This is the "Welcome and introduction" page of the "Library Science 101: Section 0332 (LAMC) Syllabus" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Science 101: Section 0332 (LAMC) Syllabus   Tags: 21st century libraries, academic libraries, archives, public libraries, special collections  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lamission.edu/Library101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome and introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 

Basic Research

 

Weekly Schedule

  • Friday, Feb 20, 2015: Wk. 1
    Course overview: 21st century libraries and archives. The World Digital Library.
  • Friday, Feb 27, 2015: Wk 2
    Steps to writing a research paper. Browsing and searching topics. Essential questions and the thesis statement.
  • Friday, Mar 6, 2015: Wk 3
    Finding, citing books and e-books on a selected topic. Critically selecting & evaluating sources.
  • Friday, Mar 13, 2015: Wk. 4
    Creating an annotated bibliography in either MLA or APA style. Examples and in-class exercise.
  • Friday, Mar 20, 2015: Wk 5
    Citing sources using the Modern Language Association (MLA) and/or the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style.
  • Friday, Mar 27, 2015: Wk 6
    Finding and citing internet resources on a selected topic. Critically selecting & evaluating sources.
  • Friday, Apr 3, 2015: Wk 7
    Finding and citing newspaper, magazine and journal articles in Library Databases. Advance search techniques and using database tools.
  • Friday, Apr 10, 2015: SPRING BREAK
    Spring Break 2015
  • Friday, Apr 17, 2015: Wk 8
    Finding primary and secondary sources, accessing and searching online Archives.
  • Friday, Apr 24, 2015: Wk 9
    LAST DAY!
    Final quiz and final project due.

LIB SCI 101: Spring 2015 - Course Description

Welcome!

LIB SCI 101: Section 0332 10-11:50am (F) LRC 205 (2/20-4/24)


This is a short term one unit class transferable to any CSU or UC University.

Course Description: Students learn to use the research tools found in most libraries to find, organize, evaluate and cite information from various sources, including library databases, catalogs, and the Internet.

Drop by the Library Reference Desk for help. Call or e-mail for an appointment or show up to class early, I’m usually around for five or ten minutes before and after class.

 

Study like a scholar, scholar

Instructor

Profile Image
Sheila MacDowell, MLIS
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Visit the Library Reference Desk
Mon-Fri
8:30-4:00pm
or
Make an appointment
Call (818) 364-7752
or send me an e-mail.
Send Email
My favorite books are:
Fiction, non-fiction, travel, mystery, history, biography, memoir, classics, cookbooks, science fiction, fantasy, young adult, children's.

Student Learning Outcomes

Upon successful completion of this course, a student will be able to: 

  • Apply effective research strategies to find and evaluate print and online sources on an identified topic. 

 

  • Cite sources correctly following the Modern Language Association ( MLA )
  • and/or American Psychological Association (APA) citation style.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip